Marygrove College Faculty Member Publishes New Scholarly Book

Written by Donald E. Levin on Tuesday, 17 June 2014. Posted in News, Press Releases

Literature and the Encounter with God in Post-Reformation England

Michael Martin and BookPlease join us in congratulating Dr. Michael Martin, assistant professor of English and co-director of the Nancy A. McDonough Geschke Writing Center, whose book, Literature and the Encounter with God in Post-Reformation England, has just been released by Ashgate Publishing in the UK.

In a review, literary scholar Gregory Kneidel from the University of Connecticut calls Michael’s book “a sophisticated and informative study” that is “bolstered by penetrating insights from medieval and postmodern religious thinkers.”

Bauder Lecture; Friday, April 19th

Written by Laurie LePain Kopack on Monday, 07 January 2013. Posted in News, Events

Terrance Hayes

Marygrove College celebrates the twenty-fifth anniversary of its Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series at 8 p.m. on April 19, 2012. National Book Award winning author Terrance Hayes will deliver the Lillian and Don Bauder Lecture in Alumnae Hall on the Marygrove College campus. Afterward, he will sign copies of his works.

25th Anniversary

In commemoration of the 25th anniversary of  the series, the Marygrove College Art Department is sponsoring a traveling exhibit of Michigan artists’ works inspired by the writers who have visited Marygrove over the past quarter century. The first stop is the Beyond Words Gallery in the Marygrove library.
Opening reception: 6 p.m., Thursday, March 28, 2013. 

Marygrove College receives NEA grant

on Monday, 10 December 2012. Posted in News, Press Releases

to support 2013 Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series

Detroit, MI, Dec. 10, 2012—National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Chairman Rocco Landesman announced today that Marygrove College is one of 153 not-for-profit organizations nationwide to receive an NEA Challenge America Fast-Track grant.  Marygrove is recommended for a $10,000 grant to support the 2013 Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series.  Since its inception 24 years ago, the series has emphasized the importance of African American literature and fulfilled the community’s desire to hear nationally recognized African-American writers discuss their work before a diverse audience. Marygrove celebrates the 25th anniversary of the series in 2013 by featuring National Book Award winner Terrance Hayes, author of four collections of poetry (Muscular Music, Hip Logic, Wind in a Box, and Lighthead).  Each installment of this distinctive series has four components: a  class session conducted by the author for students from Marygrove College and Detroit area high schools, a VIP reception and dinner honoring the author, two writing contests, and the Lillian and Don Bauder Lecture—a reading open to the public. Hundreds of people—community leaders, students, and lovers of literature—from the metro area participate in each year’s event.  New this year is a fifth component: an art exhibit which expands awareness of the selected series authors and their influence on social and cultural environments.

In this FY 2013 funding round, the NEA received 393 eligible Challenge America Fast-Track applications, requesting a total of $3,930,000.  The NEA will award 153 Challenge America Fast-Track grants totaling $1.53 million awarded to organizations in 41 states, Washington, DC, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. These include 49 first-time Arts Endowment grantees. The Challenge America Fast-Track category offers support primarily to small and mid-sized organizations for projects that extend the reach of the arts to populations whose opportunities to experience the arts are limited by geography, ethnicity, economics, or disability.

“We’re gratified that the NEA has recognized the significant role that the Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series plays in the cultural life of this community,” said Donald Levin, chair of Marygrove’s English and Modern Languages Department. “This grant will help us to pay fitting tribute to the work of the authors who have visited our campus over the past quarter century.”

"The NEA was founded on the principle that the arts belong to all the people of the United States," said NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman. "We're proud that Challenge America Fast-Track grants bring more opportunities for arts engagement to underserved communities."

See the complete listing of projects recommended for Challenge America Fast-Track grant support at



Founded by the Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (IHM) in 1905, Marygrove College is an independent liberal arts college and a Catholic institution of higher learning committed to developing leaders for the new global society. The main campus is situated on 53 wooded acres in northwest Detroit.

8425 W. McNichols Rd., Detroit, MI 48221

Writing Award Winners Announced

Written by Laurie LePain Kopack on Wednesday, 22 June 2011. Posted in News, Press Releases

Amy S. McCombs- Frederick P. Currier


DETROIT, April 8, 2011— Marygrove's English and Modern Languages Department is pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 Amy S. McCombs/Frederick P. Currier Writing Award held in conjunction with the Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series. This year's winners are:

Mia Balbin-Cuesta, "Harryette Mullen, John Cage, and the Significance of the Avant-Garde," essay
Percy Pierce, "It's All About the P & E's," poem 
Emily Sese, "Moving through Mullen," essay
Theresa Spiteri, "Harryette Mullen's Critique of Women's Fashions: From Constraints to Liberation," essay 
Della Young, "Goldilocks Goes to Jail," essay

The Amy S. McCombs and Frederick P. Currier Writing Awards are cash prizes given annually to students whose essays, fiction or poetry best express the spirit of the work of the visiting author in the Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series. Students can submit a poem, short story or play; a personal, reflective essay; or a critical analysis of some aspect of Mullen’s writing.

Mary Helen Washington Writing Award

Written by Donald E. Levin on Friday, 10 June 2011. Posted in News

Contest Winners Announced

DETROIT, March 25, 2010 — This year Marygrove’s Department of English and Modern Languages inaugurated a new writing competition held in conjunction with its Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series (CAALS): the Mary Helen Washington Writing Award Contest, open to high school students who participate in the CAALS Master Class at Marygrove. Named after nationally-renowned scholar, editor, essayist, and teacher Dr. Mary Helen Washington, and supported through the generosity of series sponsors Lillian and Don Bauder, this annual contest asks students to write essays in response to the works of the CAALS guest artist. The top four winners receive cash prizes.

Latest Tweet

Graduate Coordinator

Audrey Becker, Ph.D.
Madame Cadillac Building, Room 286
Direct: (313) 927-1272
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Department Chair

Darcy L. Brandel, Ph.D.
Madame Cadillac Building, Room 262
Direct: (313) 927-1447
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.